Faculty Program Award Recipients

Malissa Dillman, CTS-D, CTS-I

InfoComm International® presented Malissa Dillman, CTS®-D, CTS®-I with the Educator of the Year Award.

Dillman, Kramer Electronics USA's Training & Education Manager, has more than 12 years of extensive experience in the AV industry and brings her diverse skills and experiences to the classroom. In one 11-month period, Dillman prepared 212 people to take their Certified Technology Specialist™ (CTS) exam and trained 200 other professionals on key industry subjects. She developed a successful road show program, and created a popular webinar, Analog Sunset, Digital Sunrise. Dillman has been active on several InfoComm committees, including the Certification Committee. While on the Professional Education and Testing Committee, she also served as Chair of the CTS Subcommittee and was recognized as a subject matter expert for test development. A recipient of InfoComm's Women in AV Award, Dillman was one of the first four women in the world to achieve both the CTS-D and CTS-I credentials.

Educator of the Year Recipients

2013 Malissa Dillman, CTS-D, CTS-I
2012 Nelson Baumgratz, CTS-D
2011 Steven J. Thorburn, CTS-D, CTS-I
2010 Max Kopsho, CTS, MCSE
2009 L. William Nattress III, CTS-D, CTS-I
2008 Peter H. Putman, CTS
2007 Paul Depperschmidt, CTS
2006 John Campanella, CTS-D
2005 Roy A. Hermanson, Jr., CTS-D, CTS-I
2004 Mario Maltese, CTS-D, CTS-I
2003 Gary Kayye, CTS
2002 Bill Sharer, CTS
2001 Joel Rollins, CTS-R
2000 Gordon Moore, CTS
1999 Mike Weems, CTS, MCP
1998 Scott Sharer, CTS, BA, MFA
1997 Steve Thorburn, PE, CTS-D, CTS-I
1996 Spencer Bullins, CTS
1995 André LeJeune, CTS
1994 Duffy Wilbert, CTS
1993 Fred Dixon, CTS



Each individual selected as Educator of the Year:

  • taught or developed an InfoComm International program
  • taught an InfoComm International seminar program during InfoComm Exhibitions
  • published industry training/education books, manuals or pamphlets
  • is an InfoComm International member
  • holds a valid CTS designation

Fred Dixon Service in Education
Award Recipients

Kim Milliken
Luke Rawls, CTS
Fred Dixon, CTS
Mike Weems, CTS, MCP
Terry Friesenborg, CTS
Mario J. Maltese, CTS-D, CTS-I


The Fred Dixon Service in Education Award is bestowed upon an individual who exhibits excellence throughout his or her entire body of work.